Adkins, Mullins make Class 2 all-state first team

Kevin Mays • Jan 27, 2020 at 8:38 PM

Region D champion Graham took the top two player honors on the 2019 VHSL Class 2 all-state football team announced Monday.

Graham quarterback and Old Dominion commit Devin Lester was the offensive player of the year and G-Men linebacker Aaron Edwards was the defensive player of the year.

Doug Smith of state champion Appomattox was the coach of the year.

Junior running back Trenton Adkins of Ridgeview made the first-team offense. Region 2D players joining him on the unit were Graham’s Xayvion Turner at wide receiver and Brody Meadows at lineman, and Richlands kicker and Penn State signee Levi Forrest.

Forrest also made the first-team defense at punter.

Also on defense, Wise Central’s Ethan Mullins was a first-team all-state selection at defensive back. Mullins was the only sophomore to make the No. 1 defensive squad.

Union senior Mason Polier doubled up as a second-teamer, making the offensive unit at running back and defensive squad at linebacker.

Josh Price of Wise Central made the second unit as a lineman.

Other second-team all-state picks out of Region 2D were Graham linebacker Nick Kastner, Graham’s Lester at defensive back and Marion defensive lineman Will Moss.

VHSL Class 2 All-State Teams

Offensive Player of the Year

Devin Lester, Graham

Defensive Player of the Year

Aaron Edwards, Graham

Coach of the Year

Doug Smith, Appomattox


First Team

QB—Devin Lester, Graham, Sr.

C—Mathew Harris, Glenvar, Jr.

OL—Ben Cox, Radford, Sr.

OL—Will Jones, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

OL—Brody Meadows, Graham, So.

OL—Justice Wright, Appomattox, Sr.

RB—Austin Holloway, Luray, Jr.

RB—Daelyn Miller, Gretna, Sr.

RB—Trenton Adkins, Ridgeview, Jr.

WR—Jaylen Jones, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

WR—Freddie Watkins, Stuarts Draft, Sr.

WR—Xayvion Turner, Graham so.

TE—Kyle Lynch, King William, Sr.

K—Levi Forrest, Richlands, Sr.

KR—Tyler Gilliam, Appomattox, Sr.

All- Purpose—Demond Claiborne, King William, So.

Second Team

QB—Tre Lawing, Appomattox, So.

C—Kiyale Carr, Greensville, Sr.

OL—Jordan Russell, Thomas Jefferson, Jr.

OL—Tristan Gordon, Page County, Sr.

OL—Kip Green, Radford, Sr.

OL—Josh Price, Wise Central, Sr.

RB—Christian Ferguson, Appomattox, Sr.

RB—Shamar Graham, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

RB—Mason Polier, Union, Sr.

WR—Jo-el Howard, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

WR—Nick Sebolt, Glenvar, Sr.

WR—Tyler Gilliam, Appomattox, Sr.

TE—Kacey Branch, Stuarts Draft, Sr.

K—Kellan Dalton, Clarke County, Sr.

KR—Trenton Morris, East Rockingham, Sr.

All-Purpose—Trenton Morris, East Rockingham, Sr.


First Team

DL—Zion Dean, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

DL—Latrell Fomby, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

DL—Corlyn Witcher, Gretna, Sr.

DE—Jayden Watkins, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

DE—Ethan Hoffman, Radford, Sr.

LB—Shamar Graham, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

LB—Trenton Morris, East Rockingham, Sr.

LB—Colby Street, Glenvar, Sr.

LB—Aaron Edwards, Graham, Sr.

DB—Jacobi Harrison, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

DB—Jo-el Howard Stuarts Draft, Jr.

DB—Ethan Mullins, Wise Central, So.

DB—Tez Booker, Appomattox, Jr.

P—Levi Forrest, Richlands, Sr.

PR—Tyler Gilliam, Appomattox, Sr.

All-Purpose—Tevin Hurt, Appomattox, Sr.

Second Team

DL—Will Moss, Marion, Sr.

DL—Seth Hawkins, Amelia, Sr.

DL—Jamal Wheeler, Appomattox, Sr.

DE—Shamar Walker, Brunswick, Sr.

DE—Trey Trenary, Clarke County, Jr.

LB—Tevin Hurt, Appomattox, Sr.

LB—Mason Polier, Union, Sr.

LB—Kasey Branch, Stuarts Draft, Jr.

LB—Nick Kastner, Graham, Sr.

DB—Xavier Copeland, Buckingham, Jr.

DB—Robert Carter, Dan River, Jr.

DB—Taelyn Miller, Gretna, Sr.

DB—Devin Lester, Graham, Sr.

P—Freddie Watkins, Stuarts Draft, Sr.

PR—Shamar Graham, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

All-Purpose—Shackoy Fearon, Thomas Jefferson, Sr.

Kingsport Times News Videos