no avatar

Eastside’s Powers, J.I. Burton’s Williams earn all-state honors

Staff • Mar 22, 2019 at 1:27 PM

The Cumberland District co-players of the year have been named to the VHSL Class 1 all-state boys basketball team.

Eastside’s Ethan Powers and J.I. Burton’s Caleb Williams, who shared the Cumberland’s player of the year honors, were named to the eight-player first team.

Surry County’s Monte Pope, who helped his team defeat Eastside earlier this month in the Class 1 state championship game, was named as the state player of the year.

Surry County’s Zhamare Slade was also named to the team.

A couple of Region 1D sophomores, Honaker’s Grayson Honaker and Grundy’s Cade Looney, were named to the all-state second team.

Region 1D had two girls — both sophomores — make the first team: Leeanna McNulty (so.) from Honaker and Patrick Henry's Breanna Yarber (so.). Eastside's Kaylee Yates (jr.) and Chilhowie’s Leah Kestner (sr.) were named to the second team. 

High School Boys

VHSL All-Class 1

Player of the Year

Monte Pope, Surry County

Coach of the Year

James Pope Jr., Surry County

First Team

Monte Pope, Surry County, sr.

Zhamare Slade, Surry County, sr.

Mikael Jaaber, Carver Academy, sr.

Grant Painter, Riverheads, jr.

Jake Watters, Bland County, sr.

Ty Farrow, George Wythe, jr.

Caleb Williams, J.I. Burton, sr.

Ethan Powers, Eastside, jr.

Second Team

Drelyn Ford, Franklin, sr.

Savion Epps, Rappahannock, sr.

Aneis Lyons, Colonial Beach, sr.

Mark Patterson, Cumberland, jr.

Zach Claytor, Parry McCluer, sr.

Ethan Millirons, Auburn, fr.

Cade Looney, Grundy, so.

Grayson Honaker, Honaker, so.

High School Girls

VHSL All-Class 1

Player of the Year

Jada Boyd, Appomattox Regional

Coach of the Year

Adam Gilbert, Parry McCluer

First Team

Jada Boyd, Appommattox Region, sr.

Essence Brown, Galax, sr.

Madison Dunlap, Parry McCluer, sr.

Peyton Mohler, Parry McCluer, sr.

Bre’cha Byrd, Surry, jr.

Jasmyn Pierce, Surry, sr.

Leeanna McNulty, Honaker, so.

Breanna Yarber, Patrick Henry, so.

Second Team

Sara Moore, Riverheads, sr.

Kylene Franklin, Stonewall Jackson, so.

Shea Fox, Galax, jr.

Hailey Huffman, Parry McCluer, sr.

Kaylee Yates, Eastside, jr.

Alexis Nelson, Surry, sr.

Drea Betts, George Wythe, so.

Leah Kestner, Chilhowie, sr.

Kingsport Times News Videos